Midwest Veterinarian Earns Top U.S. Swine Award

Antimicrobial resistance in swine and its interconnections to animal welfare and the sustainability of pork operations has fascinated Carissa Odland, DVM, for years. A farm’s performance on these factors can be the difference between profitability and loss. Yet, not enough is known to give producers a reliable recipe for success. Dr. Odland aims to change that.

Continue reading “Midwest Veterinarian Earns Top U.S. Swine Award”

USDA NIFA awards Food Animal researchers more than $2.7 million

With the new support, CVM researchers will help animals and producers across the swine industry

The United States Department of Agriculture National Institute of Food and Agriculture (USDA NIFA) recently funded more than $2.7 million worth of research at the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine (CVM). The projects that benefit from this funding will help the food animal agriculture industry maximize production and advance strategies for keeping animals healthy. This recent investment in the CVM’s research represents another milestone in the decades-old relationship the College has with USDA NIFA, which has established a history for furthering food animal agriculture across species and contexts. 

College leadership looks forward to how this new funding, when paired with CVM investigators’ expertise, will further the science that powers animal welfare and food security across the country.

The list of awardees includes Dr. Montse Torremorell and Dr. Noelle Noyes who will work on the elimination airborne viruses from swine barns and antibiotic resistance in swine, respectively. Dr. Jerry Torrison, head of the Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory will launch a new pathology residency program in collaboration with South Dakota State University.

Read more about their projects on the College’s website.

Left to right: Dr. Montse Torremorell, Dr. Jerry Torrison, and Dr. Noelle Noyes

2020 Science in Practice Award Winner: Clayton Johnson

Clayton Johnson, DVM, a partner and veterinarian at Carthage Veterinary Services in Carthage, Ill., will receive the 2020 Allen D. Leman Science in Practice Award in September. He joins a growing and illustrious list of veterinarians who have received the award, which is presented at the annual Allen D. Leman Swine Conference in St. Paul, Minn.

Continue reading “2020 Science in Practice Award Winner: Clayton Johnson”

Albert Canturri and Gustavo López selected as MnDRIVE scholars

We are proud to announce that two great candidates, Albert Canturri and Gustavo López, have been selected as 2020-21 MnDRIVE scholars.

The MnDRIVE Global Food Ventures (GFV) seeks to promote a broader and deeper understanding of our interconnected food systems through experiential cohort learning. Graduates with a broader understanding of food production, processing, protection, and policies will be better able to apply their disciplinary expertise to advance MN food economies and improve the lives of Minnesotans. 

Continue reading “Albert Canturri and Gustavo López selected as MnDRIVE scholars”

A successful 50th anniversary of the AASV meeting

The 50th anniversary of the AASV meeting this past week was an occasion to shine for faculty, students, and researchers of the University of Minnesota swine group.

Dr. Peter Davies received the Howard Dunne memorial award, recognizing his important contributions and outstanding service to the AASV and the swine industry.

The UMN CVM students did a fantastic job. Marjorie Schleper presented a comparison of methods for a successful inoculation with Mycoplasma hyopneumoniae and got the second place in the student oral presentation competition. Katelyn Rieland was also recognized for her project on the evaluation of UV chambers on swine farms.
David Pillman and Taylor Homann both received a prize for their poster presentation and Homann was awarded one of the 10 student scholarships given by Merck Animal Health.

Lastly, Dr. Juan Sanhueza And Dr. Mariana Kikuti each received one award given by Boehringer Ingelheim to advance the research on swine respiratory pathogens for their respective projects: “Toward the best testing strategy for PRRSV stability: time-to-negative processing fluids in breeding herds” and “Genetic diversity of PRRSV in piglets during an outbreak”.

Congratulations to all!