AASV 2018: A successful meeting in San Diego

The UMN CVM students did a fantastic job at the 2018 American Association of Swine Veterinarians (AASV) meeting last week. Zhen Yang presented an update on his research regarding PCV3 and got the second place in the student oral competition.
Taylor Homann received a prize for her poster presentation. Marjorie Schleper was awarded one of the 10 student scholarships given by Merck Animal Health. Hunter Baldry was recognized for the most downloaded podcast: her interview of Dr. Clayton Johnson.

Dr. Montse Torremorell shared the initiatives undergoing at the University of Minnesota in the honor of Dr. Bob Morrison.

Lastly, Dr. Juan Sanhueza received one award given by Boehringer Ingelheim to advance the research on swine respiratory pathogens for his project: “Evaluation of parity as a delaying factor to reach PRRSv stability in sow farms”. Dr. Perle Boyer received a research grant from the AASV Foundation to develop Day 1 competencies for swine veterinary graduates.

Congratulations to all!

Leave a Reply