Dr. Matt Sturos wins new scholarship, re-ups on a fellowship

Dr. Matt Sturos

Matt Sturos, DVM, Dipl. ACVP, recently won the WTS Thorp Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $15,000 for the 2019–20 academic year. This scholarship supports and recognizes graduate students in veterinary diagnostic pathology. Thorp was director of the University of Minnesota Veterinary Diagnostic Lab in the mid 1950’s and the CVM’s dean from 1957–71.

Last year, Sturos was also the inaugural recipient of the Dr. James B. Moe and Janice M. Moe Fellowship, which recognizes a full-time PhD trainee in the field of comparative medicine, specifically related to infectious diseases or pathology. He has been awarded this fellowship once again for 2019–20. This recognition comes with a $1,000 award.

Sturos’ research interests are the transmission, pathogenesis, and prevention of important infectious food animal diseases. He is currently focusing on Senecavirus A in swine.

Leave a Reply